Little Attention Whore

tumblr_m7ufhgOqgT1r9k8gao1_400

Are you a Little Attention Whore?

I touched on some of the aspects of this post in a previous post but this one is written from a different perspective. This article tackles a Little’s need for attention and my personal struggles with being a little attention whore.

I’m not sure where that saying came from but somewhere along the line I picked up the phrase attention whore because it is just so perfectly descriptive. That is exactly what I am, an attention whore. I just cannot get enough and I always crave more. Is there something wrong with that? Absolutely not but society may tell you otherwise.

As littles, we often find ourselves needing more attention than what is socially acceptable for grown women. It is far more acceptable for children to be clingy, needy and hungry for attention all the time. As we age it’s expected that the need for attention wanes and becomes significantly less. That misconception could be no more wrong than in the case of littles Vs acceptable societal norms. After all, littles and babygirls are just overgrown kids when given the chance to let their inner child out. We need loads of attention, hugs, kisses, hand holding, cuddling and we like to have our Daddy’s attention devoted 100% to us a lot of the time.

There is absolutely nothing wrong with this but when we lend our ears to what society, a bunch of people who don’t know us from a bar of soap, we learn that being needy and/or clingy is a bad thing. There are also many immature boys trying to be men out there who cannot fathom what you are and what you need and will make you feel bad about your need for constant attention. All of this can be and often is very damaging to a babygirl. It makes us feel like there is something wrong with us and that the fault lies with us instead of with other people who blindly follow social norms without question.

I, myself, have struggled and I continue to struggle with the fact that I am a complete attention whore. I need attention and I need a lot of it. I don’t need you to shower me with material gifts but I need you to be there for me and with me, to spend time with me, cuddle me, kiss me and hug me. I need you to constantly compliment me even if I shrug off your compliments with my negative self image because I secretly crave your attention, adoration, love and reassuring compliments like a vampire craves blood after 1000 years locked in a dingy coffin.

To be completely honest, I become very depressed and unhappy, cranky and eventually I perpetually live in turbo charged bitch mode if I don’t get enough of the various types of attention that I need.

While Monster and I were broken up for a few months, I had an online relationship with someone who eventually made me feel like there was something wrong with me. He said I was too intense and made me feel really very bad for wanting, needing and demanding more attention from him. Every time he made me feel that way, I felt crushed like I was a butterfly that he was stomping on with a big thick soled boot. My heart still feels funny when I think about how bad it made me feel and how unhappy I eventually was and I really and truly feel for every little or babygirl who has been made to feel that way by anyone before.

Fast forward to the present, I still struggle sometimes, no, a lot of the time, with my need for attention. Monster spends half of his time with me and the other half at home with his family. While I live with my mom and I am never truly alone, I can’t get the attention I crave from other people. Simply being in the same apartment with someone else isn’t enough, I need hugs and kisses and cuddles and to have my hair stroked. I need Daddy to make me smile and giggle when he randomly says “woof”, to fall asleep in his arms and to get pulled into near bone crushing big Daddy bear hugs. When I can’t have physical attention, I need Skype calls, Whatsapp messages, phone calls and SMS messages. It’s very hard for me to be understanding when he can’t be here with me and even more so to understand when he is at home and spending time with his family or daughter and doesn’t answer my Skype/Whatsapp/SMS messages.

It is very hard sometimes, coming to terms with the fact that being a little attention whore is OK and a part of who I am and that it’s not a dirty, nasty part of me that I need to hide away. It is also sometimes just as hard to be understanding and not give Daddy grief when he can’t be with me.

It is important for all babygirls and littles to make peace with their inner little attention whores and to accept it as a good and healthy part of who they are. Of course, there are always the exceptions of those girls and women who take needing attention too far but this article is meant to address the average adult babygirl. It’s OK to want attention, to crave it and hunger for it, look forward to it and to feel a little bit sad and unhappy when you can’t have it. You are human, unique and special and if any man you are with cannot see that, then he does not deserve your love, submission and definitely not of the privilege of knowing and seeing your little side.

I also feel like it is important to add to this that while it is OK to be a little attention whore, it is not OK to make your Daddy’s life miserable when he cannot be with you and give you the attention that you need. There are going to be times when he will have obligations and responsibilities that will take up his time, attention and even take him away from you. It is your job to learn how to deal with that sadness and unhappiness. For more about this particular subject, please refer to an older blog post of mine: Be a Little Understanding.

I hope that you learn to accept your inner attention whore and to embrace her as often as you can and that you have a Daddy in your life who will pander to and spoil you with love, affection and attention, as much as you need.

One thought on “Little Attention Whore

Leave a Reply

